elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2002-12-23, 10:51 a.m.:
I don�t know what to think anymore about life. Things are perfect and then scary and then weird and beautiful all at the same time.

After making Grandpa Joe stay home and rest all weekend, he became a little antsy and wanted to go out and get a Christmas tree. Which was fine, except for the fact that we don�t have a car.

�Grandpa, how are we supposed to get a tree home?� I asked him incredulously.

�Lainey, you worry too much. Once we get out there, we�ll figure something out, I promise. We�ll call a cab or somethin�.�

So, fine. We walked to a tree lot downtown which is about 5 blocks away. Instantly I saw a nice medium-sized one and called out to Grandpa to come look at it.

�No, Lainey,� was his reply, �I found it! The most beautiful tree on this Earth!� I circled around the lot until I found him standing beside a monstrous, 9-foot tree-giant.

I laughed. �Grandpa, you have to be kidding me. There is no way we can haul that thing home.�

�Yes we can, and we will,� is all he said. And then he loyally stood by his tree for 15 minutes, smugly smoking his pipe until I finally consented.

�Okay, Grandpa. If that�s the tree you want, fine, I�ll call a cab.�

�No,� he replied, �we won�t be able to get this thing in a cab.� And then he scanned the lot until he found what he was looking for.

�HEY! Hey young man! C�mere!� He was yelling to a boy about my age who was smoking a cigarette and talking on his cell-phone.

The boy looked up and motioned to himself with a questioning look on his face.

�Yeah you, come here!�

The boy grudgingly hung up his phone and walked over to where we were standing. Grandpa proceeded to ask him to help us walk the tree home, but I couldn�t help but realize that the boy was staring at me.

Finally I got the courage to speak. �Um, you don�t have to um, help us. We can probably do it oursel-.� He cut me off. �You�re Elaine Wells, right?�

I instantly looked up. �Err..yes?� I charmingly replied.

He smiled (gorgeously). �I was in your 4th grade class. Remember, Chris Herrington, the chubby guy that you always stuck up for? I had such a crush on you back then. Sure, I�d love to help you with the tree.�

So, Grandpa went and paid for the tree and Chris and I caught up.

�Are you going to college?� he asked me.

�Yes, I go to _________. You?�

�Oh, I go to __________. It�s only about 20 minutes from your school.�

�Right. I have a friend that goes there.�

Grandpa came back and we started on the 5-block walk back to Grandpa�s house. The tree had to have weighed about 1,000,000 lbs., and it was hard being polite and cute in front of my new friend, especially since I was sweating and cursing every 10 seconds.

(I�m starting another entry for this. This one is long enough. When did I become so long-winded?)

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com