elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2002-12-18, 2:17 p.m.:
Well, yesterday was quite interesting. I was packing my bags to go Grandpa Joe's house for the holidays, when the phone rang.

"ELAAAAAAINE! IT'S FOR YOOOOOOU!" Warren yelled.

"Hello?"

"Elaine Wells? This is Kathy Porter. I'm a nurse at _______ Community Hospital and we have your grandfather admitted here for chest pains. He just wanted to let you know where he was."

In the background I heard, "Is that my Lainey?! Let me talk to her!"

"Is he all right?" I asked the nurse, obviously worried about the one and only family member I have.

"Oh, he's fine. His blood pressure is a little low and he's a bit anemic. We'll probably watch him overnight. Oh, he's quite a character, too. Wants to smoke his cigars in his room and flirts with all of us," she said with a laugh.

I talked to Grandpa Joe for a little bit and had him reassure me that he was alright, and then I called Patrick and asked him if he could take me to the hospital, which is about 80 miles away. He said, "of course," and came right over. On the drive over to the hospital he tried to make me laugh but I was still a little nervous and panicky from the phone call and about my Grandpa's health.

When we got there, I found Grandpa Joe's room and walked in to hear him say to a pretty young nurse, who was taking his blood, "I might be old, but I got allota energy." And then he winked at her, hahaha.

Patrick and I stayed for 2 or 3 hours, and then Grandpa Joe forced us to leave and to "go have fun." As I was leaving, he said, "Patrick probably doesn't want to drive back all that way tonight. And I have no way of knowing where he decides to sleep tonight. As long as I don't know, it can't hurt me." He also said this with a wink.

I love him. I don't know what I'd do without him.

So Patrick spent the night last night with me at Grandpa's. And for those of you who keep asking, no we haven't slept together. I haven't slept with anyone. And I sure as hell wouldn't sleep with him at my Grandpa's house-- the house of my childhood innocence. That would be too weird, I think.

Patrick and I have been baking Grandpa's favorite cookies this morning, and then Patrick will leave this afternoon after bringing Grandpa home. He has offered to do all of this without anyone asking.

I hugged him from behind just a little while ago and said, "Thanks for doing all of this stuff for me. You are so sweet and if you keep it up, you just might get lucky." And yes, I said this with a wink. *elaine*

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com