elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2002-12-02, 3:03 p.m.:
Monday. Back to class. Yay.

I planned to stay home Friday night and have a "me" night. You know, lie around contemplating the goings-on in my soap-operatic life. But as I was getting (more!) cookies from the kitchen, Warren came out from his bedroom and said, "Hey, Elaine. You're just the person I wanted to see. What are you doing tonight?"

"Stafing whome," I said, mouth full of cookie.

"Good. Me too. Let's rent a movie or something, ok?" I looked at him with raised eyebrows.

"Realfy?"

He laughed. "Swallow please. Yes really."

I smiled. "Okay."

Needless to say, it felt nice that Warren wanted to hang out with me. Like, he values me as someone to hang out with or something. He always acted so formal with me before.

Anyway, we hopped in his Civic and went to Blockbuster. We ended up renting Amelie because it's my favorite and he hadn't seen it yet.

Then we went to the grocery store and bought stuff to make hot chocolate.

When we got home I started making the hot chocolate for us and he sat down at the kitchen table and waited. We talked about movies and school for a bit and then he got quiet.

"Elaine, I was thinking about it and I'm really glad you and Patrick didn't hook up."

"Really? Why?"

"Well, it's just that...you seem...kind of innocent. I wouldn't want someone like Duranny messing with you."

"Well, it means a lot to me that you care that much, but I wish I didn't come off as being innocent. A lot of people think "innocent" is synonymous with "immature," you know?"

He shook his head. "No, you definitely come off as mature, but...I don't know. He just wasn't good enough. Not for you." And then we had this awkward moment that I'm still thinking about as I sit here and write.

We smiled at each other and then, I don't know, he like, gazed at me. With this look. It was weird and a little exhilirating.

But, just like in my life of drama, the phone's shrill ring forced us to snap out of it. Warren answered it.

"It's Patrick," he said and handed me the phone.

"Hello?"

"Hey Elaine. What's up?"

I looked over at Warren, who was watching me intently.

"Oh, nothing. I'm about to watch a movie with one of my roommates. Why?"

"Oh. I just, I just wanted to apologize for being an asshole the other night. I know people say things about me, and yes, some of it's true, but it's...different with you." I couldn't help but smile. "Hold on a sec, Patrick." I put my hand over the receiver and whispered to Warren, "I'll just be a sec. I'm sorry." Then I went down the hall to my room and closed the door.

"Patrick?"

"I'm here."

"Ok. Um, anyway, I know you say it's different but I, um, I don't think we should rush into dating and stuff. Let's hang out a little more and get to know each other, okay?"

"Yeah, that's exactly what I was about to suggest. We'll just hang out and see what happens, ok?"

"Ok, but right now, I'm about to watch a movie with Warren so can I call you later?"

We said our goodbyes and I returned to the living room. Warren looked up at me.

"So?"

I smiled and said, "Let's watch the movie."

So things are a little...weird around here. A little more flirtatious. A little more cheerful. A little more perfect.

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com