elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2003-04-30, 6:22 p.m.:

Why is it that when I am trying the hardest to avoid someone, I inevitably run into them?!

I was walking from the bus station to my place of work (to sign for them to mail me my last check! I am done with them! I start my training for the new job tomorrow! Yay!) when lo-and-behold, Warren walks out of CD-NOW across the street and instanteously sees me.

Cursing under my breath and thinking about how great my luck is, I waved a small, awkward wave and kept my head down while walking fast so that he'd hopefully get the point that I didn't have time to talk. Didn't work.

"Elaine! Hey! C'mere a minute!"

My heart pounding in my ears, I waited for a couple of cars to pass before I quickly scooted across the road. "Um, hi Warren," I said with false cheer and a smile.

"Hey, listen, I wanted to apologize for the other night. I know I must've really freaked you out."

"Patrick says you don't even remember doing it so why are you apologizing?" I asked quietly.

"I do remember it, Elaine. I just told him that so I wouldn't get my ass kicked. He's bigger than me, you know?"

"Oh." I looked at the ground and started kicking at a pebble.

"Elaine, you're acting weird. It's almost as if you hoped I'd remember it or something."

"God, no! I mean, I didn't care whether you remembered or not! I'm with Patrick. I'm only concerned with whether or not he remembers my kisses," I said a little too defensively.

"Oh...okay. Well, anyway, do you forgive me?"

I wanted to ask him why he did it, what was going through his head at the time, whether or not he developed feelings for me, etc. But I just stood there and nodded.

I stood there and nodded when what I wanted to do the most was to tell him I haven't been able to get that kiss out of my mind ever since.

*elaine*

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com