elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2003-04-02, 3:38 p.m.:
1. Making a list sounds fun today.

2. Does anyone know how to make my diary's font bigger? I want it to be easier on the eyes.

3. The STD results will be in tomorrow afternoon (one week from when we got them.

4. Patrick's mom e-mailed him this:

Son, your dad and I like this one. What do you think about going out tomorrow and looking at it? Love, mom

!!?! This house is probably $400,000! I didn't want to be rude, but I asked Patrick how they could afford something that expensive. All he'd say was that Sandy inherited a lot of money and has always saved up for Patrick. (He's their only son.) That seems so surreal...like something you'd read out of a V.C. Andrews novel. (Not that I'd know...) I just kept rolling my eyes the whole time he was telling me this stuff. I CAN NOT believe they are buying him a huge freakin' house for graduation. I'll be lucky if I get $20!

5. Anyone heard of Steve Reich? He's a composer and he has this album called "Different Trains." It is amazing. Especially the song off that album that shares the same name.

6. Jen is still camped out over here. Warren hasn't called since Monday night, when she answered the phone and promptly told him to go to hell. This morning I was given the unwanted task of going over to pick up some of Jen's clothes. Hoping Warren wasn't home, I opened the door slowly and stepped inside, only to discover him standing there watching me. He looked like shit.

"Oh hi, Warren," I said cheerily, "I was just coming to um, borrow some things from Jen's closet."

"Bullshit, 'Laine, I know you're here to get some stuff for her."

"Yeah, sorry. I'll just be a minute."

I crossed through the kitchen and started towards the hallway, where Jen's room is. He intercepted me.

"How is she? Does she hate me?"

I swallowed nervously and looked at my feet, hoping he'd give up, but he stood there waiting.

"Warren, I know this isn't any of my business, but...why? Why did you do it?"

Now it was his turn to feel awkward.

"I guess for the same reason Patrick did what he did to you. Because my feelings were scaring me. And Katie...Katie doesn't care about having a relationship...she's just fun."

I didn't want to pick sides or be angry, but something about what he just said made me pretty mad, probably because I had recently been in a similar situation (although if Patrick had cheated on me, he'd no longer own a penis and I wouldn't be with him). So, basically, I went off on him:

"I am so sick of men being scared all the time. Don't you realize that being with Jen makes you feel good? That you love her? That waking up knowing that she exists is a wonderful and beautiful thing? How can that scare you enough to fuck it all up? She never asked for a proposal, a ring. You guys get so fucking scared so easily, that you don't even realize what you have! Now, if you'll excuse me," I said and pushed past him, "I've got some things to pick up for my friend."

I was expecting him to follow me, to argue, but he didn't. I grabbed her suitcase from the closet and filled it up with underwear and jeans and outfits she requested. And then I walked with the over-stuffed suitcase out into the living room only to see that Warren was sitting on the couch, crying.

"Oh god Warren, I'm sorry I sounded so harsh--it's just that guys are hard to understand sometimes."

"I totally fucked up, didn't I?"

I pulled the suitcase over to the couch and plopped down beside him.

"Yeah, yeah you did. I'm not gonna lie. But it's up to you to do things right now, you know? Like, for starters? End it with this bitch, Katie. And I'll talk to Jen."

7. #6 was very long.

8. I am going now.

9. *elaine*

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com