elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2003-03-04, 12:24 p.m.:
I know I said I'd be back last night to tell you about Sunday but by the time I got home (two hours after my shift ended!!) I literally fell into bed with my restaurant-smelling clothes still on me.

So, Sunday:

The first Sunday of every month, my school has an "open house" at their observatory 10 miles away and out in the middle of nowhere. Well, Patrick decided we needed to do something relaxing after moving and unpacking all day so he took me out there. Now, I have never had the pleasure of looking through a telescope before so like with blinking newborn eyes I stared in wonder at Saturn (and her rings!), Jupiter and four of its moons, a nebula, the galaxy Andromeda, and various stars. If you haven't had an oppurtunity to do this, I say you must! Call your local observatory or take a road trip to the nearest one. Lots of Campuses have oppurtunities for the public to come use their telescopes for free as well.

It was absolutely the most humbling, beautiful, and frightening experience I have ever had. To know that those things are out there and then to actually see them is so incredible. If I didn't mind all the physics part of it, I would definitely change my major to Astronomy.

Anyway, for those of you who were hopng I was going to write about another romantic evening planned by Patrick, I'm sorry to disappoint you; but really, Sunday night was a very unforgettable experience.

Patrick has been teasing me ever since then because I went and bought a children's book on Saturn and one on the Hubble Telescope.

~Did you know that Saturn's biggest moon, Titan, has the same environment of what some scientists believe to be exactly like primitive Earth? Meaning that in a billion years or so, there might be lfe on Titan!~

Okay, I am going now.

*elaine*

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com