elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2003-02-17, 4:32 p.m.:
Happy late Valentine's Day, everyone!

Well, have I a lot to talk about so let's get started shall we?

Friday morning upon waking up I became frantic for two reasons: One, I was going in to La Belle Jardin to train for hostessing that afternoon. Which means, yes, I GOT THE JOB! I was nervous knowing that the place has a lovey atmosphere and that my first day was on the most romantic day of the year. It really frightened me because I knew it was going to be busy. And two, because it was, indeed, Valentine's Day and I didn't know what Patrick and I were going to do...you know...as in do.

And I didn't have anything prepared. I mean, as far as cute things to wear underneath and all. And I wanted to look nice for him, as all girls do when its their first time.

And then I was like, "Am I getting too worried about this for no reason?" I mean I didn't know if he was feeling the same way or planning the same things for us to, you know, do.

So that afternoon I took the bus to the mall and shopped at Victoria's Secret. I was trying to blend in and act like sifting through lacy underthings was just a common, everyday thing for me. And then the saleslady came over. "Can I help you with anything?" she asked with a fake smile. And normally, I would've said no, I'm just looking, but I was really, really bent out of shape over this whole lengerie thing. So I said, in Elaine fashion of course, "Well, um, my boyfriend is um, well we are planning on...you know..for the first time and, well, actually I don't know if we are REALLY but I know that there is a chance, and I just, um, want to look nice I mean, I'm not just going to wear underwear all night I am planning on wearing something over that too but I wanted something nice under my..." and then I started laughing, and added "I'm sorry, I can figure it out by myself."

And the lady with the fake smile just looked at me funny, nodded, and walked away.

And so I left that store because I was afraid she might call security on me. I went into Gap Body which is more my style, you know, more simple. I bought a cute matching light pink set and felt better prepared. Little did I know....

So from the mall I went to work for 3 hours

and stood right beside the girl training me and observed her taking phone reservations and checking people in and blah blah blah all that hostessing stuff.

I called Patrick at 7 because I actually got off half an hour earlier than planned. He told me be sure to be ready by 8:30 and to wear something nice. He also said to turn the TV on to Channel 22 (which is the University channel that he hosts a sports thing on) at 8.

So I took a quick shower and slipped on my pink underthings and did my hair and make-up until 8. I then slipped on a robe and went into the living room. "Warren," I said to my roommate who was watching MTV, "can I change the channel real quick? Patrick told me to watch his channel at 8." Warren looked irritated but nevertheless let me change the station.

There Patrick sat, talking to some other dude about something sportive that really, I don't understand at all, but anyway. I was watching and trying to figure out what he wanted me to see. He knew I didn't watch sports and would have no idea what he was talking about. In the middle of my trying to figure this out, Patrick's voice interrupted my thoughts, "...wanted to wish my beautiful girlfriend, Elaine Wells, a very happy Valentine's Day." The guys sitting around him on camera snickered a little and patted him on the back. "Elaine, you've been through a lot in the past month and I want you to know how very much you mean to me. I love you."

Warren and Jen had been watching the TV behind me. I was melting and crying and Jen was like, "Oh my god, that's the cutest thing" and even Warren acted surprised and happy for me.

I jumped around the living room with Madeline and couldn't believe how lucky I was to have such a handsome beautiful person do such nice things for me.

(To be continued...)

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com