elaineslife
archives
newest
email
guestbook
profile
design
diaryland
2003-02-10, 3:27 p.m.:
Oh Patrick. I swear that boy is full of surprises. This morning I cut class to go to my interview at La Belle Jardin. I was pretty nervous because, although I've worked as a hostess before, I've never worked somewhere this elegant. My interview was at 10:00 a.m. and like a good little interviewee, I arrived at 9:45 sharp, dressed in black slacks and a white blouse (which, coincidently, is the hostess dresscode...clever, eh??)

The waitstaff manager, Mr. Owen, shook my hand and sat me down. We talked for a good 20 minutes and I tried my best to seem confident and friendly.

He seemed very nice and genuine and he said he would call me either this evening or tomorrow. He made it sound like they've been needing a hostess for a while now and not a lot of people have been applying. I'll start off with $7.50/hour, so maybe that's why not a lot of people have been interested, hahaha.

Anyway, I called Patrick's cellphone from the bus station payphone. "How did it go?" he asked.

I told him that I felt good about it and that I was excited. "Good," he replied, "but I have something for you. Are you going home right now?"

I told him I would be home in about 20 minutes. "I'll meet you there." And then he hung up!

When I walked the block from the bus stop to my complex, I noticed that Patrick's car was in the lot.

I went up to the door and opened it, only to be greeted by Patrick (Warren let him in) HOLDING A PUPPY! And not just any puppy, but a beautiful cream-colored chinese sharpei. Now, for those of you dog connesuiers out there, you should know that sharpei puppies cost about $1000 when you buy them from a breeder, but Patrick apparently has a very eccentric aunt who breeds sharpeis and gave this one to Patrick for me. I started crying and blubbering and making a fuss like I had just given birth to my own baby!

Patrick bought her a baby pink collar and she is right now sleeping on my lap as I write this. He said he was going to wait until this Friday, Valentine's Day, but that he just couldn't stand it. I've decided that her name is going to be Madeline. She is so wrinkly and warm and I couldn't ask for a better gift, especially with what has been going on in my life lately.

And Patrick, I think I am falling in love with you. (Good thing he doesn't read this!)

last - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com